There is nothing better than being camouflaged. Do you think maybe I went a bit overboard with my Safari theme? LOL. Resting and relaxing while working with my girls at the front desk for 20 minutes at a time. That’s about all I can manage right now, but I’m getting better. To all of you ladies and gentlemen that have gone through breast cancer surgery, my prayers are with you. I can’t wait to get back out and on the road. I’m seeing my surgeon Friday morning at 9 a.m. for a follow-up. People are asking whether or not I’m settling in for the snow. Since I’ve been home, I’ve been watching lots of TV. There is one commercial I’ve seen countless times that references the “settlers.” When I went to school, a long, LONG time ago, when settlers were spoken of, they were courageous people who braved unchartered territory. The commercial used the word “settlers” as people who settle for less, rather than more. I would hope the people who came up with that commercial, for cable TV, thought about how they disparaged those people who left a particular comfort that they knew, to brave a world that they didn’t, (which actually can be exactly what you do when changing cable companies, so maybe they got it right after all). As I watched, I sat and hoped we don’t wind up with a generation who forgets about how our ancestors forged a new world for us to enjoy, including the comforts of cable TV.

Please keep in mind from January 1 – March 30, Kiwanis is collecting gently used and new shoes (for both underprivileged adults and children). If you would like to be a part of this wonderful cause, please deliver them in plastic bags, rubber-banded in pairs, to 1958 Victory Boulevard, our Safari Real Estate Office. And remember, It’s Always a Woman’s Right to Shoes!

