Braving the wind-chill and threat of a white-out blizzard, we (that would be me and my hubby), drove over to Dr. Draper’s, at the former Staten Island University Hospital (now Northwell) Breast Cancer Center, for my post-surgical follow-up. Great news! The “girls” are looking fine (might I say, wonderful)! Sharing my good news back at the office, Samantha alerted us to a museum (Museum of Sex) in Manhattan where you can jump and down on nipples. Since mine are still a tad sore, I hope no one jumps up and down on them, but what fun…LOL. Prognosis is good, thanks to my outstanding surgeons, and undoubtedly the well-wishes and prayers from so many Staten Islanders. I do not have another appointment for three weeks, which is a good sign, as I’m able to sit at the front desk with Lucy, Laurie and Samantha and carry out my business.

Donny Pagano, Lieutenant Governor for Kiwanis, came by the office and picked up over 100 pair of shoes that have been donated since we started our shoe collection to benefit Kiwanis and the third world countries where people have never even worn a pair of shoes before. We are reminding you to spread the word…instead of throwing those shoes away, drop them to 1958 Victory Boulevard – my Better Homes and Gardens Safari Real Estate Office – and we will be sure they get to those in need.

And speaking of shoes, get out those snow shoes! Apparently  that blizzard is fast approaching. Frank went to Doody’s and Reiman’s, both on Victory Boulevard, to buy new shovels and ice melt. He may have even stopped at Alfonso’s for some hot Italian bread, but he wouldn’t confirm or deny, though the crumbs gave him away. The front desk staff was great today. They brought in hot tea and coffee from Dunkin Donuts, conveniently located directly across from our office, and we sipped and talked as we took care of business. And fortunately, I didn’t have to go to CVS for any new medication after my visit with Dr. Draper. Yay! Another step in the right direction.

I’m sure Bree Driscoll will have a full weekend covering the weather and all the stories it creates on NY1. Stay warm Bree!

Please keep in mind from January 1 – March 30, Kiwanis is collecting gently used and new shoes (for both underprivileged adults and children). If you would like to be a part of this wonderful cause, please deliver them in plastic bags, rubber-banded in pairs, to 1958 Victory Boulevard, our Safari Real Estate Office. And remember, It’s Always a Woman’s Right to Shoes!

 

 

 

