For some of us, a lost weekend is an absolute welcome experience. For others, it can be stressful because there is so much pressure for things to get done. As much as we’d like to believe things are in our control, there are times when we just have to sit back and take advantage of quiet downtime. We can only listen to what’s being whispered in our ears, like a blanket of snow covering the city.

I recall when the boys were younger, and I would have run to the supermarket to buy ten pounds of stew meat, five pounds of chicken cutlets, and gallons of milk. Then there were the ingredients to make cookies and cake; you all know what I’m saying. It only took twenty years of the boys being out and married and not living with us, making supermarket runs of their own, to realize I no longer had to make all that food.  And poor Frank, who would try and devour it, just so I wouldn’t feel badly. The amount of cooking I’ll be doing this weekend will be nil, as Lipton noodle soup with extra noodles will be my staple as I  my recover.  A hefty does of Murder She Wrote (channel 629 on TWC), will likely be my entertainment, and much catching up on my thank-you notes to every one who sent prayers, gifts, and good thoughts my way.

I can share without hesitation that saying safe and warm is where you want to be this weekend. Maybe in the arms of a loved one, snuggled up with a cherished pet, or wrapped in a fleece blanket that hugs pretty well. Get into those pajamas and slippers, and may the snowballs be with you…LOL

Please keep in mind from January 1 – March 30, Kiwanis is collecting gently used and new shoes (for both underprivileged adults and children). If you would like to be a part of this wonderful cause, please deliver them in plastic bags, rubber-banded in pairs, to 1958 Victory Boulevard, our Safari Real Estate Office. And remember, It’s Always a Woman’s Right to Shoes!

