Started the day with Lucy and Laurie. Worked on Real Estate matters , did my hair, put on my make-up, and headed over to 100 Cable Way to meet with Angela Hart and crew of Hart of the Earth tv show that features not-for-profits. We were asked to be a guest on the show representing our son Frank’s memorial foundation, “Protecting One Young Heart at a Time.” The filming was a bit delayed because of some technical difficulties, but by 4 p.m, the 29 minute show began filming. I think I’m a bit of a ham…LOL, because they said I did a great job with no retakes, so I was very happy to be able to get the word out about having children’s hearts checked.

By 5:15 I’m back at the office to meet with my buyer whose property recently closed, and we had a nice conversation about the different scenarios available to her. After, I got ready to be picked up by Martha, my new ride, until the Dr. says I can drive again. We drove out to Aunt Butchie’s on Arthur Kill Road. The food was wonderful with very attentive service, and this was our division meeting for Kiwanis. All the Kiwanis clubs were there, along with first lady, Helene Irvine. Helene is a member of our Richmond County Club. Her project, Warm Beginnings, is becoming a national program through Kiwanis to have baby showers at local hospitals so newborns may be sent home with new clothing. Kudos to Helene on this huge accomplishment.

Last evening an announcement was made that “Protecting One Young Heart at a Time,” has taken off at 18 hospitals, through Kiwanis, in Upstate NY. I’m so happy that Forbes Irvine, our Governor of Metropolitan Kiwanis, has found our program to be deserving of this Kiwanis endorsement. Our mission of saving parents the grief of the loss of a child due to sudden cardiac death has been accomplished beyond my expectations. As the night came to a close, over 100 Kiwanis said good night with many generous donors for different projects to support the Staten Island community. I’m so proud to be a Kiwanian.

Please keep in mind from January 1 – March 30, Kiwanis is collecting gently used and new shoes (for both underprivileged adults and children). If you would like to be a part of this wonderful cause, please deliver them in plastic bags, rubber-banded in pairs, to 1958 Victory Boulevard, our Safari Real Estate Office. And remember, It’s Always a Woman’s Right to Shoes!

 

